Gingerbread Crepes!

Standard

A couple people have already asked me for my recipe for gingerbread crepes I made a couple times over the holidays, so here it is! These are easy to make, and both people I cooked for had ALL the ingredients in their cupboards already. The first time, I did stuffed crepes with apples-and-cream filling. The second time I folded the crepes and served them with rum sauce:

Gingerbread Crepes (makes 8 crepes)

I recommend 2 crepes per serving for filled and 3 each with toppings.

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup water
2 eggs
2 tablespoons melted butter
1 tsp molasses
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/8 tsp grated nutmeg

Whisk all ingredients until smooth, and allow to sit in the fridge for at least 20 minutes. I used this time to make my fillings or toppings.

When you’re ready to go, heat up a buttered (or cooking-sprayed) crepe pan or flat cook surface. I used a griddle pan with great success. I used a medium heat. Spoon three tablespoons of batter onto the pan and smear batter in a circular pattern so there’s a thin, even layer of batter in about a 7″ circle. Cook for about 1 minute. Crepes should no longer be liquid, but the top side won’t be completely dry. Flip, and cook another minute on the other side.

Set aside and allow to cool a few minutes before handling.

 

Cream Filling

1 pkg cream cheese
1 cup confectioner’s sugar
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups water
2 apples, sliced and skinned
1 tsp cinnamon

Boil water in a small saucepan and add apples and cinnamon. Apples can also be baked with cinnamon, but I boiled them. I used honeycrisp apples, and they were wonderful. Simmer in saucepan until apples are soft, then drain.

Whip heavy cream: stir with whisk or mixer until thick and fluffy. Mix in sugar and cream cheese.

Spoon about a tablespoon of cream mixture into a crepe, creating a straight line across the crepe. Add several apple slices, sprinkle with cinnamon, and roll.

I served rolled crepes in pairs, with a spoonful of extra filling and more cinnamon sprinkled on top. I considered serving these as part of a complete breakfast, but they were PLENTY of food by themselves.

 

Rum Sauce

I used this rum sauce recipe from Allrecipes.com, pretty much as-is. I used Bacardi Reserve dark rum, and I used a little more than the recipe called for. I folded crepes in quarters, and served a plate of three with a pineapple ring, covered in rum sauce. It was much lighter than the filled crepes, but just as tasty.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

